The Premier receives a salary of \$10,000 and the other Cabinet Ministers \$9,000 per annum, plus a sessional indemnity of \$4,333.33 and a travelling and expense allowance of \$2,166.66. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$4,333.33 plus a travelling and expense allowance of \$2,166.66. An additional allowance of \$3,000 is made to the Leader of the Opposition.

15Legislatures of	Newfoundland.	1949-67.	as at June 30.	1967

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
May 27, 1949 Nov. 26, 1951 Oct. 2, 1956 Aug. 20, 1959 Nov. 19, 1962 Sept. 8, 1966	1st	4 7 3 4 4	July 11, 1949 Mar. 11, 1952 Mar. 19, 1957 Apr. 20, 1960 Mar. 20, 1963 Nov. 30, 1966	Nov. 3, 1951 Sept. 10, 1956 July 28, 1959 Mar. 20, 1962 Aug. 17, 1966

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at June 30, 1967.

16.—First Ministry of Newfoundland, as at June 30, 1967

(Party standing at latest General Election, Sept. 8, 1966: 39 Liberal and 3 Progressive Conservative.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and Minister of Economic Develop- ment. President of the Council Minister of Mines, Agriculture and Resources. Minister of Public Works. Minister without Portfolio. Minister of Finance and Minister of Community and Social Development.	Hon. J. R. Smallwood	Apr. 1, 1949 Apr. 1, 1949 June 12, 1961 Apr. 4, 1950 Dec. 15, 1951 May 21, 1952	Apr. 1, 1945 Sept. 8, 1966 June 12, 1967 May 1, 1957 Dec. 15, 1951 (Dec. 7, 1964 June 12, 1967	
Minister of Supply and Minister of Public Wel- fare. Minister of Health Minister of Provincial Affairs. Minister of Fisheries. Minister of Highways. Minister of Education. Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Minister of Justice. Minister of Justice. Minister of Labour.	Hon. B. J. Abbott. Hon. J. M. McGrath. Hon. G. A. Frecker. Hon. Addan Maloney. Hon. E. S. Jones. Hon. H. R. V. Earle. Hon. J. C. Crosbie. Hon. J. A. Hickman. Hon. C. R. Granger.	Aug. 8, 1966 Dec. 7, 1964 Dec. 7, 1964 July 19, 1966 July 28, 1966	June 12, 196 Aug. 7, 195 Dec. 7, 196 June 12, 196 Dec. 7, 196 June 12, 196 Sept. 8, 196 Sept. 8, 196 Sept. 8, 196 June 12, 196	

Subsection 2.—Prince Edward Island

The Government of Prince Edward Island consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1873) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 105; since that date, the position has been held by the Hon. F. W. Hyndman, appointed effective Mar. 31, 1958, followed by the Hon. W. J. MacDonald, appointed effective Aug. 1, 1963.

The General Assembly elected May 30 and July 11, 1966 is the 51st in the history of Prince Edward Island Legislatures and the 26th since Confederation. It has 32 members from 16 electoral districts who may serve for a statutory term of five years. Each district elects one Councillor and one Assembly member. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 105. The Hon. Walter R. Shaw was Premier from Sept. 16, 1959 until the present Premier took office following the General Election of May 30, 1966.